Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Hall of Fame

The Canadian Wheelchair Sports Association is pleased to announce that the first inductees into the Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Hall of Fame will be revealed on December 16th, 2017 at the 70-50-40 Anniversary Gala.

The Hall of Fame will recognize and honor the lifetime achievements of individuals who have made significant contributions to the sport of Wheelchair Rugby in Canada since it was invented in 1977 in Winnipeg, Manitoba.   

“The opportunity to recognize our history and the people that have shaped that history is a priority for the CWSA.  As plans progress the excitement is building for what is going to be an amazing event,” said CWSA CEO Catherine Cadieux.

Throughout 2017, the CWSA has worked diligently to lay the foundation for the Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Hall of Fame. The list of inductees will grow as we continue to recognize excellence, leadership and dedication in our own Heritage Sport of Wheelchair Rugby.

A diverse and representative committee was created, with the mandate of determining the Hall of Fame’s nomination criteria and selection process. Shortlisted nominees were submitted by the Hall of Fame committee to the selection committee which was comprised of longstanding members of the Canadian Wheelchair Rugby community. From this shortlist, the selection committee members voted on the inaugural inductees into the Hall of Fame. 

Hall of Fame - Categories & Criteria
The Canadian Wheelchair Rugby Hall of Fame will have two categories of inductees, Athletes and Builders.

Athlete Category:  Any individual athlete who has:

  • Achieved outstanding and extraordinary success in Canadian wheelchair rugby nationally and/or internationally;
  • Brought recognition or honour to Canadian Wheelchair Rugby at the nationally and/or internationally.

Builder Category:  Any individual Administrator, Volunteer, Coach, or Official who has:

  • Made an outstanding and extraordinary contribution towards the promotion, development and advancement of Canadian wheelchair rugby nationally and/or internationally;
  • Made a defining contribution to Canadian society through wheelchair rugby;
  • Brought honour to Canada through ongoing dedication to the building of wheelchair rugby athletes, teams, or the sport itself.

70-50-40 Anniversary Event
presented by Hollister LTD Canada & Local 258 IBEW

From December 14th to 16th, the CWSA will be hosting a very special event in our nation's capital, to celebrate three important milestones in the history of wheelchair sport in Canada.

70 years since the first activity in wheelchair sport started at Deer Lodge Rehabilitation Centre in Winnipeg, Manitoba in 1947.

50 years since the Canadian Wheelchair Sports Association was officially incorporated in 1967.

40 years since the Canadian Heritage Sport of ‘Murderball,’ or Wheelchair Rugby as it’s now known, was invented in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

For more information, please visit   

Spaces for the Anniversary Gala on December 16th are LIMITED and filling up fast!
Book today by phone (613.523.0004) or by email (