Dr. Donald Royer to be Inducted into the Parasport Quebec Hall of Fame

(Ottawa, ON – Feb 7, 2018) The Canadian Wheelchair Sports Association congratulates CWSA President Dr Donald Royer who will be inducted into the the Parasport Quebec Hall of Fame on March 14th, 2018.

Dr. Donald Royer is the longest serving leader in the Canadian Wheelchair Sports Associations’ history. He has dedicated his personal and professional life to athletes with a disability as well as the entire Paralympic movements for nearly 50 years. His unselfish commitment, sacrifice and loyalty has been felt and experienced at the local, provincial, national and international level. Donald is truly one of our iconic leaders.

“Dr. Royer’s involvement in the Parasport community is well known in Quebec, Canada and internationally,” said CWSA CEO Cathy Cadieux. “Whether coaching, managing or providing outstanding leadership as a board member of numerous organizations, his contributions have been significant to the growth of wheelchair sports for the past 50 years.”

Royer began his involvement in wheelchair sports as a coach, leading Canada’s women’s wheelchair basketball team from 1977-79 and acting as the chief bench boss of the Canadian’s men’s team in 1986. He has also coached athletics and powerlifting and served as team manager or team leader for an incredible range of international events, including 13 Paralympic Games.

Royer has also served on an incredible range of boards of directors and committees, including the International Stoke Mandeville Wheelchair Sports Federation, CWSA, the Canadian Paralympic Committee Executive Council, Wheelchair Basketball Canada, the Executive Committee of the International Paralympic Committee and Parasports Québec. For his tireless dedication, he has received numerous awards, including the Jacques-Beauchamp Award, the Robert W. Jackson Award, the Rick Hansen Award and the Paralympic Order. Most recently, Royer was inducted into the CWSA Hall of Fame, under the builder category.

The ParaSport Quebec Hall of Fame induction ceremony is set for March 14th, 2018. More information can be found here