GIO 2018 WWRC Official Test Event

From the August 2nd to August 5th, Team Canada will be competing in the GIO 2018 IWRF Wheelchair Rugby World Championship Official Test Event in Sydney, Australia.

The test event will provide Team Canada with an opportunity to test themselves against some of the world’s best wheelchair rugby players. It will also provide the national team with an unmissable chance to familiarize themselves with the venue and facilities ahead of next year’s World Championship.

Roster
The following 11 athletes will be representing Team Canada at the Sydney Test Event:

Team Canada Roster - Sydney Test Event

Live Stream
Set your alarms, all Team Canada matches will be streamed online! Links will be made available as the date for the event nears. Team Canada’s match schedule can be found below:   

DATE TIME HOME SCORE AWAY
2/08/2017
1/08/2017
01:00 EST
22:00 PT
CANADA 54 - 44 Vero New Zealand
3/08/2017
2/08/2017
01:15 EST
22:15 PT
CANADA 53 - 60 Victoria Protect Thunder
3/08/2017 04:45 EST
01:45 PT
CANADA 58 - 49 Suncorp Queensland Cyclones
3/08/2017 23:30 EST
20:30 PT
GIO New South Wales Gladiators 60 - 61 CANADA
4/08/2017 03:00 EST
00:00 PT
Japan 59 - 49 CANADA
4/08/2017 23:00 EST
20:00 PT
3rd Place
CANADA
54 - 65 4th Place
GIO New South Wales Gladiators

For the complete tournament schedule, click HERE

Standings

TEAM MP W L GF GA + / - POINTS
Japan 5 5 0 280 230 +50 10
Victoria Protect Thunder 5 4 1 288 266 +22 8
CANADA 5 3 2 275 272 +3 6
GIO New South Wales Gladiators 5 2 3 293 280 +13 4
Vero New Zealand 5 1 4 246 266 -20 2
Suncorp Queensland Cyclones 5 0 5 227 295 -68 0

Results, Recaps & Photos!
Not an early bird but still want to follow all the Team Canada action from Sydney? We’ve got you covered! Results, recaps, and photos will be posted throughout the tournament on the CWSA Website as well as on our Wheelchair Rugby Canada’s Facebook and Twitter Accounts.  

Click HERE to read our daily blog "Stories from the Land of Oz" for photos and the latest on Team Canada.   

For the complete tournament schedule, click HERE

What’s next for Team Canada?
This event will help prepare Team Canada for the upcoming IWRF 2017 Americas Championship which will be held from September 3rd – 10th in Asunción, Paraguay.  Ten nations are expected to compete in this event, with the top two finishers earning spots at next year’s World Championship. 

 

NEXT MATCH
2018 WWRC Test Event - Bronze Medal Match: Canada v. GIO New South Wales Gladiators

August 4th @ 20:00 PT // 23:00 EST